Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Sources: Databases

A guide to accessing information sources at The Alice Smith School

Databases & Academic Magazines

For login PASSWORD information click here

Academic databases provide access to academic journals, scholarly articles, and other peer reviewed sources of information. We also include here links to academic magazines with highly regarded editorial control. Databases can be general or specialist in their content.

Subscription Academic Databases

KLASS pays subscriptions to these high quality academic databases. As a school researcher you can assume that content in these databases is authoritative.

 JSTOR

 

JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.

 

Gale Databases

Gale Academic Onefile is a broad spectrum university level database providing millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources,

EBSCOhost Science Reference Centre

EBSCOhost is another university level database. KLASS only subscribes to the Science Reference Centre component of the EBSCO databases.

Taylor & Francis Online

We have access to the following Taylor & Francis journals:
- English in Education
- Journal of Curriculum Studies
- Research in Drama Education

 MASSOLIT

MASSOLIT is a specialist subscription lecture base for students in the field of literature and history. There are video lecture courses for many aspects of literature and history mostly by university academics.

 British Sociological Association - SAGE Journal

British Sociological Association provide free access to even more journal content, books and case studies through BSA Membership throughout 2016. 

* SAGE Sociology Journal Collection: Free access to 15 new sociology journals including seven in industrial relations and health has been added to the over 60 journals available online to all BSA Members.

* SAGE Research Method Cases: Includes over 500 hundreds of real social research of original case studies of real research projects and research scenarios written by the researchers themselves. BSA members have free access to the entire collection.

* SAGE Knowledge: This collection offers BSA members free access to over 1,000 sociology e-books. It is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBooks and eReference content.

Open Access Databases

Open Access Academic Database sites are gateways to academic research papers that have been made available online by their authors for the academic community.

Just like Wikipedia with a free service you need to keep a discerning eye on the source of documents located as the authority of the sources can be variable.

 Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ is a huge open access database and a good place to start if you cannot find sufficient sources in our subscription databases.

JURN

JURN is similar to DOAJ and very broad spectrum in content.

RefSeek

RefSeek is an academic search engine for students and researchers. Locates relevant academic search results from web pages, books, encyclopedias, and journals.

Other Open Access Journals

To assist you the library has located other specialist open access journals.

To browse the list click here.

 Scientific American & Scientific American Mind

Scientific American & Scientific American Mind.

A high level popular science magazine with highly regarded editorial control. We subscribe two titles where one is science/technology focused and the other is focus in psychology.

Any student whose EPQ touches on science, technology or psychology should consider this an important potential source.

Academic Magazines

We include here links to academic magazines with highly regarded editorial control.

The Economist

The Economist is so much more than just a economics magazine. It is rather an academic news magazine that looks at all global issues with an economic bias. You will find information about science, sociology and everything else. It is a great general resource.

Financial Times

The Financial Times is the UKs most prestigious newspaper with a specific focus on the financial world.

New Scientist

New Scientist is a highly regarded weekly magazine that tracks and reports on all aspects of current science related issues. New Scientist originates from the UK.

Scientific American

Scientific American is a highly regarded weekly magazine that tracks and reports on all aspects of current science related issues. New Scientist originates from the USA.

Scientific American Mind

Scientific American Mind is a bimonthly American popular science magazine concentrating on psychology, neuroscience, and related fields.

 Drama Online

Drama Online is a specialist subscription database for researchers in the field of Drama and Theatre Studies.