Skip to main content

Information Sources: Databases

A guide to accessing information sources at The Alice Smith School

 What are Academic Databases?

Academic databases provide access to academic journals, scholarly articles, and other peer reviewed sources of information.

Databases can be general or specialist in their content.

 JSTOR

 

JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.

 

 MASSOLIT

MASSOLIT is a specialist subscription lecture base for students in the field of literature and history. There are video lecture courses for many aspects of literature and history mostly by university academics.

 British Sociological Association - SAGE Journal

British Sociological Association provide free access to even more journal content, books and case studies through BSA Membership throughout 2016. 

* SAGE Sociology Journal Collection: Free access to 15 new sociology journals including seven in industrial relations and health has been added to the over 60 journals available online to all BSA Members.

* SAGE Research Method Cases: Includes over 500 hundreds of real social research of original case studies of real research projects and research scenarios written by the researchers themselves. BSA members have free access to the entire collection.

* SAGE Knowledge: This collection offers BSA members free access to over 1,000 sociology e-books. It is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBooks and eReference content.

 National Library Malaysia

Malaysia’s National Library provides residents with access to some valuable resources. These include access to multiple academic databases through their federated search ‘discovery service’

The EBSCOhost database is available from this source.

 Highwire - science and medicine database


HighWire is a database that consolidates peer reviewed academic papers from the sciences and medicine. A significant proportion of the content is Open Access full PDF.

 Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

 Scientific American & Scientific American Mind

Scientific American & Scientific American Mind.

A high level popular science magazine with highly regarded editorial control. We subscribe two titles where one is science/technology focused and the other is focus in psychology.

Any student whose EPQ touches on science, technology or psychology should consider this an important potential source.

 Directory of Open Access Journals

There is a significant amount of good quality peer reviewed journal access available for free. A good place to start is with DOAJ.

Just like Wikipedia with a free service you need to keep a discerning eye on the source of documents located as the authority of the sources can be variable.

 Other Open Access Journals

To assist you the library has located other specialist open access journals.

To browse the list click here.

 Questia School

Questia School is an academic source with 83,000 eBooks and 8,000,000 journal articles.

We are running a trial of this database with Year 12 at present. If any others require access please speak to library staff.

 Drama Online

Drama Online is a specialist subscription database for researchers in the field of Drama and Theatre Studies.